https://gotoby.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/go-toby-logo.jpg 0 0 Toby Tobin https://gotoby.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/go-toby-logo.jpg Toby Tobin2009-02-17 00:00:002021-03-19 15:16:04Deadline for Filing Florida Homestead Exemption Nears
Deadline for Filing Florida Homestead Exemption Nears
New Florida resident or moved within the last year? You must file for your exemptions before March 1st.
Palm Coast, Florida – February 17, 2009 – Florida homeowners with exemptions received notices from their local county property appraiser recently, confirming their homestead exemption was automatically renewed. But if you’re a new resident, or if you’ve changed your residence in Florida within the last year, you may need to take action by March 1 to get this important property tax exemption. Because that date falls on a weekend this year, the filing deadline is extended to March 2nd.
Florida law offers several types of property tax exemptions:
- Homestead exemption: Available to any resident of Florida who owns and lives in a home in Florida. After a 2008 constitutional amendment, Florida law now offers a $50,000 exemption, although only $25,000 exemption applies to school taxes.
- Additional homestead exemption for some Floridians age 65+: If the combined adjusted gross income for federal tax purposes for all persons residing in your household was $25,873 or less in 2008, you may also be eligible for an additional homestead exemption of up to $50,000. Some 59 of Florida’s 67 counties had enacted so-called “senior homestead exemptions” as of 2008, as well as many cities.
- Exemptions for widows and widowers, blind persons, persons with disabilities and disabled veterans: These exemptions are for from $500 to $5,000 or up. Please consult the Florida Department of Revenue web site for detailed information.
Tax law can be complex. For information, visit the Flagler County Property Appraiser’s website or call them at (386) 313-4150.
Leave a ReplyWant to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!